Walking with refugees and immigrants

I met with a group of people who are planning an event they hope will help to build community for refugees and immigrants in Portland. They're planning walk of about a mile on August 19, with banners, food, performances, and stories at the end of the walk. I'm sure it will be a unifying event, though we learned today that some refugees and immigrants are afraid to come, for fear fascists will show up and threaten them. Sadly, that is a possibility. 

I didn't feel I was able to be of much use to the group, though I made a few candid shots at the meeting and a large posed group photo at the end (see Extra).  Another event happened today: a boy child was born to my grandson in Arizona and his girlfriend. They posted a lovely photo on Facebook. The baby's name is Jaxxton. I hope to meet him some day. I stare at the photograph, sending love and hopes for the best possible life for this new being.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.