Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Still Blooming

We got so busy that I didn't have time to edit my photos or blip for the past week.  We got home yesterday afternoon, about an hour before a series of strong thunderstorms and flash flooding along our route!  I had looked ahead at the weather and we left earlier than usual to try to beat them and, thankfully, we did!  I will add backblips starting tomorrow.

We had a great time with our new friends and some of our old friends also arrived later in the week.  And we had the best food ever on a camping trip thanks to Rudy and Julie!

When we got to the campsite and were setting up, we noticed unusual wear on one of the camper tires.  So this morning we called our nephew who is a diesel mechanic and very knowledgeable about RVs.  When I described it he immediately said that our axle is bent.  We brought the trailer for him to look at and he's pretty sure that's the problem.  He wouldn't let us even drive home on the tire.  He said it was ready to explode!  He put the spare on and gave us a tire that he had and we took it to our tire dealer and had it mounted and put on the trailer instead of the spare so we didn't cause wear on it before we got the axle fixed.  I called the alignment place and they said they can probably straighten the axle.  They said to bring it in on August 7th (we are leaving again on the 13th) so I made the appointment.  But then I suggested that I bring it in tomorrow and just leave it with them in case they can get to it sooner and they said that would be fine.  So that's the plan.

No time for photography today so I went out to see if I had any roses and I saw this Columbine.  I don't think I've had any blooming this late in the summer before so it made a perfect EB. :-)

Sorry I haven't kept up with your journals.  I hope to start catching up tomorrow.

I am grateful that we beat the storms and made made it home safely on the worn tire.  We didn't realize how bad it was until Ken removed it and showed us that the cords were exposed.  We were so lucky not to have had a blow out!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.