Still Life with Piggys

Dear Diary,

The humidity (oppressive) and the showers (intermittent) continue.  I thought I would stay in the relatively cool house and photograph one of the many "still life" that I have around.  I use to have my art students create self-portrait still life paintings.  This one says a lot about who I am and what interests me.  The toothpick holder and jelly spoon are family heirlooms (family history is so important to me), the piggy's are salt and pepper shakers (whimsy is part of who I am as well as a love of animals), part of my bowl collection can be seen (I inherited the collecting gene) and the old canning jars are a reminder of my grandmother and my love of all things "country".  The painterly process is a nod to my teaching career (I taught an evening painting class for adults for 20 years).They say "we are what we eat" but sometimes we are what we photograph!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.