Complimentary Colors

Dear Diary,

My very dear friend Karen is coming for a short visit tomorrow.  We were both art teachers in Milton for 30 years.  Every summer while we were teaching, we would get together and talk about lessons for the coming year.  We had a curriculum of course but we had a lot of flexibility in how we approached each topic.

Color theory was an important part of our curriculum and while I was photographic this bee it sprung into my mind completely unbidden, "complimentary colors, yellow and purple".  It made me smile.  It has been 7 years since I left teaching and my mind will still sometimes revert to lesson planning.  We plan a museum visit on Thursday and I'm sure we will talk about teaching...it was such a huge part of our lives.

I don't think you ever fully leave your profession when you retire, at least it seems that way to me.  Teaching is a part of who you are not just a job you did.  We are both happily retired now but a part of us will always be planning that next lesson I guess.  My final week of the course Ethics of Memory begins today so I plan to devote the afternoon to it.  The teacher is now the student...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.