Webs and Rust

I was wondering what effect the recent rains might be having on Spring Creek, so I drove in to work along Rock Road to check it out. What I discovered: the water was running high and muddy, yes, but it wasn't flooding the road or doing anything really nasty. At least not yet.

I arrived at Spring Creek during a short break in the rain. Conditions were misty and wet. And much to my surprise, the world was covered in WEBS!  There were spider webs everywhere, strewn from every part of the rusty bridge, from every bush and tree, along every flower.

Other creatures were moving around the water's edge. I said hello to a pair of ebony jewelwing dragonflies, and snapped a photo of a pearl crescent butterfly; like me, all of them out and about in the light drizzle.

I took some pictures of the spider webs on the bridge itself, and above is one of the shots I got. The bridge is at the edge of prison land, so it has a no trespassing sign and barbed wire on it. It doesn't look very inviting, does it? But I thought the mix of textures and shapes and colors was interesting.

My title for this image reminds me of that wonderful old Joan Baez song, Diamonds and Rust, so that is my soundtrack for this image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.