Turk's Cap Lily After Rain

If it seems like I've been talking a lot about rain lately, you would be right. According to one weather weenie I know, according to the data, it's been our wettest July in 123 years. We've had day after day of drenching rains, and parts of central and southern Pennsylvania are covered in muddy waters.

In the valleys of the Susquehanna, major flooding has swept some areas, resulting in extensive damage and even a few water rescues.The worst of it seems to have been south and east of where I live; we've been pretty fortunate in the State College area.

My adventures on this morning took me onto campus. There was a few-hour break in the rain, and I took the opportunity to stroll through the alumni gardens and visit the duck pond, where a girl with pinky/purple hair sat watching the mallards.

I spotted these turk's cap lilies near the little white gazebo, looking mighty fine indeed. It's the fashion accessory we've all been wearing here, of course, but it looked so lovely on the orange blooms. They were covered in shiny, jewel-like drops of rain.

The song: Rod Stewart, with Young Turks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.