An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Goodbye Jeffrey...

Backblipped 26.07.18
 
It was an early rise.  5am!
 
We waved Alan, Christine and Jordan off at 7pm then gave the place a final run over with the broom. 
 
As I quickly ate a bowl of cereal I heard the now familiar pitter patter of Jeffrey’s paws as he came to say goodbye.  I could hardly eat my cereal for the lump in my throat as he shoved his greying snout under my arm for the last time. 
 
I gave him lots of cuddles and lots of dog biscuits and David had to get the broom back out as poor old Jeffrey doesn’t realise he leaves crumbs behind.  Either that or it’s just too much of an effort for him to get his head down there to hoover them up.  I hope the next family staying at the Barn will treat him well and make a fuss of him.
 
We drove away from the Barn at 7.50am and within the hour were on the M5 and heading home.


Despite some heavy traffic in places, we made good time and our first stop was Keele.   The rest of the gang were there too but just heading off as we arrived.  A quick sandwich and a cuppa and we were on our way again.
 
Next stop Tebay services where we bought some lovely steak for dinner.
 
Jordan stopped at Hamilton services where Christine’s husband was waiting to pick her up, then carried on and him and Alan were home at 5.30pm.  We were there by 6pm.  A long drive but certainly faster and more straightforward than the journey down.
 
We had put all the dirty laundry into one suitcase so it was taken straight to the utility room and David put the first load on while I made dinner.  Jordan headed home and Kirsten arrived.  Alan was very happy to see her and keen that we tell her about his holiday.  When asked if he had a good time and would he go back to Devon we got a resounding yes!  That made me very happy.
 
Now final night without Lola.  Picking her up tomorrow at lunchtime.  Can’t wait!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.