Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Offended by Bloomers? Look away now.

I found myself at a bit of a loose end this afternoon for half an hour when I got a call from W to say she was getting an earlier train back from London than planned. I was to pick her up from the station and I didn't have time to go back home as originally planned so as I was near the MK Museum and knew this was there I popped in for a few shots.

74 LNWR 'Bloomer' Class 2-2-2 engines were built between 1851-62, of which 33 were built at Wolverton Works. All had been scrapped by 1888. This non-working replica was built by apprentices at the Wolverton Works and completed in 1991. It went on display outside Milton Keynes railway station until 2006 when it was looking the worse for wear due to the weather and local spray-painting yobbos. It was moved back to the works and cosmetically restored, and since 2017 has been on display outside the museum.

Sadly, the Wolverton Works is now closed and scheduled for demolition unless a a local campaign to save part of it is successful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.