Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

I don't give a fig

I'm not sure this strictly qualifies for Flower Friday as the fig bush doesn't seem to waste it's time going through the flower stage of existence; it saves time and effort and just gets straight on with producing the fruit. But as it's as close as it gets to a flower I've tagged it anyway. The recent hot weather has been good for the bush as I've kept it well watered; whether they will be edible is another matter.

In other news, the lane outside our house was resurfaced last week while we were away and last night the line painters turned up and reinstalled the school sign on the road outside our house (see extra) at 10.45pm! This morning I watched one of the village ladies on a young horse ride past; the horse did not like the sign at all. You may be able to see hoof marks on the road where it has walked round it but it took a lot of cajoling and comforting words from the rider before the horse would go past! This evening the same lady came past again with a friend on their horses and I noticed the young one was still very apprehensive; the other one, older, fatter and more wise, just walked right over the sign.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.