Early Bird

I think the worms may be diving deep in the soil in this dry weather but at least my early morning jaunt to the allotment yielded a nice blip.  The light on Scutellaria sevanensis caught my attention - job done.  

I've grown the plant for a few years, it's made a mat about a foot across, growing out over the patio.  Bone hardy here, it's deciduous nature means it looks quite dead at the end of the winter but it soon comes back to life in spring.  I've raised a few new plants from seed this year as I want to redevelop the spot where the original plant grows, this is one of the newbies.

A busy day!  Watering and lifting some spuds at the allotment early on.  My watering before our trip paid off, everything survived the heatwave.   Butternut squash are really taking off now in their annual bid to rule the world!  Going to be a good year for pumpkins too.

Jamie had a helpful orthotics appointment this morning and I was back at the hospital with Jacinta this afternoon, she's having a daily treatment for a few weeks.  Supermarket to replenish the stores and a trip to deliver a wheelchair to Grandma and Grandad's place filled a fair bit of the rest of the day.  Jamie's Norwich Grandma, Jacinta's Mum, comes home tomorrow now that live-in carers have been found.  On the way over I saw the golden sun setting in the west and as I returned a full moon was rising in the east.  

Just a spot of watering and I'll be done in for the day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.