Escaping

Variety. Never a dull moment…

This morning we went out on a community engagement effort. We expected to be walking around in the sun for just over 2 hours. At the 90 minute point the Boss’ priorities changed with 10 seconds notice and we were sent to help at an event at a local family support centre.

We served drinks to the families for the next 90 minutes. They were getting burgers and hot dogs and ice cream and magicians and a disco. My guess is it was for families who can’t afford a holiday, but it is just a guess. 

After work I packed my bag and drove 2 hours to Aberdeen. I’m staying at an airport hotel overnight ahead of an early flight tomorrow. I lived in Dyce (the village on the other side of the airport) for 3 years in the 1970s so the area is a strange mixture of the familiar and the confusing.

Or maybe I’m going gaga. 

I suppose most airport hotels are easily forgotten. This one is, although as these things go it’s very good and excellent value - except for food and drink. They are good too, but expensive.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.