Ralph Steadman

Now I know this is a very scary caricature but it's one I'm very proud of.  It was created by the famous British caricaturist Ralph Steadman in 1979.  It was a momentous year in my life when I had the good fortune to win the British Open Squash Title.  I know many of my blip buddies are aware of this, but I've never shared this image before.  Unbeknown to me, the Squash Association in the UK commissioned Ralph to do this caricature of me and it featured on the front of their Squash Player International magazine when they featured the results of the British Open that year.  It was a total shock to me and caused a lot of hilarity amongst my fellow "Squashies" and my friends.  

On the 23rd of June I featured a blip on Adrian Osborne the wonderful caricaturist from Beechworth Victoria.  Adrian had created a caricature of me that I have started using as my Avatar.  I discovered that Adrian is passionate about Ralph Steadman's work and I promised him I would seek out the image Ralph had done of me in 1979 and send him a copy.  I bet it's going to give him a good laugh and I can't wait to see what he thinks of it.   I have to say, I think the recent one that Adrian did is a little more flattering :))) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.