Plus ça change...

By SooB

Tuc In

If I made a list of the things I miss from the UK, TUC biscuits would be on it.

Now, I can buy TUC biscuits here, obviously, please see exhibit A in front of you. However, these are not TUC biscuits as I remember them. They come in the right packet (actually, they come in sets of three packets which is even better) but where are the strangely spherical 'grains' of salt? Curious.

One day, perhaps when I've lived here as long as I lived in Britain, I will make the list of what I still miss, and an opposing list of what I would miss from France were I to move back to Britain. At the moment the list of people would be too unbalanced, and the list of things too swayed by nostalgia, lack of knowledge of what I can get here, and eagerness for the new exotic tastes here (will I go off the bread? Probably not.)

All of which is to say that I didn't do much today. I felt poorly, drank much tea, shopped, took the kids to and from school and basketball. And ate some TUC biscuits. (Why do I call them biscuits and not crackers?)

For the record, very foggy morning, sunny afternoon. We're forecast fine weather this week - hope it delivers as I have some big apple tree shaped holes to dig in our garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.