Moonrise

After weeks and weeks and weeks of fine weather and clear blue skies, the weather changed this evening just in time for the lunar eclipse.  The downpour we had this afternoon at home was very welcome for the garden, but this evening the sky was still covered in a blanket of cloud.

A couple of days ago we had been for a recce at Blipstone windmill because I had decided it would be a good spot to photograph the rising eclipsed moon against the landscape while there was still some light in the sky.  I had chosen where to plant my tripod to get the best view. 

When it came to it, my blip shows the view that we had just after moonrise.  That faint glimmer of light in the sky near the horizon gave us hope that we might see something, but the moon remained obstinately behind the clouds. 

I'm sure that the sight of the blood red moon rising over the windmill would have been a competition winning shot!  Oh, well: win some, lose some.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.