The Missing Girl

Today we in 'Keep Oban Beautiful' had advertised a balsam-pulling day on the Black Lynn, but as often, none of the promised 'Coming' or 'Interested' on our Facebook page actually turned up. I spent the first three hours pulling on my own and feeling rather conspicuous, which was a pain. Then it rained and I got soaked, and as I was preparing to leave, a Mum with two children turned up to take over, so all was not lost. Even so, we will have been able to pull up only a tiny fraction of the balsam in flower and could happily have used fifty people. What did amaze me was a young guy, maybe late 20s, the sort of bloke that you would expect to see drinking on the seafront with his mates, came past and said something like 'Well done mate' and shook my hand, passing over a £20 note at the same time. You never can tell!

This afternoon I returned to our photo exhibition at Waterstones and enjoyed some fun conversations with the few attendees. When I left and walked through the shop it was full of people, including this lady. If she is the Missing Girl, then presumably I've found her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.