A chance meeting....

We're having such a run of fantastic weather--another day much like yesterday--so I took the camera and drove down the road to where the retired Sisters have what I call their "mini arboretum"; it's full of flowers, plants, trees and shrubs, as well as lovely paths you can follow. As I was walking along I came across this lady sitting on one of the benches, reading her book. I thought she looked lovely--she had a dress on, was wearing long sparkly earrings, and  her hair was put up in a bun, the bun being covered by what looked to be pearls wrapped around it. I told her she looked delightfully relaxed, and she laughed. We started talking, as you do, and she lives in the Senior Apartments that are on the property. She said she loves to sit in the quiet, enjoying all the beautiful surroundings.  We talked about the flowers, the weather, the butterflies, the birds, her book, my camera, blip, etc. 
 I posted her picture today, not because I thought it was a great photo, but to mark the day that I finally asked someone if I could take their picture! She vehemently and quickly said "No", as she hates having her picture taken and feels she never looks good. I told her I could totally relate, as I'm the same way. I said I'd been really nervous to even ask her, but figured the worst she could do was smack me with her book and say no, which made her laugh. She cocked her head to the side, looked at me, then said "Okay, one picture, but I'm NOT looking at the camera"! So I took one picture. Then she wanted to see it, and said "See what I mean? I look terrible"!   (If that doesn't sound like ME!!)  I told her I liked it because it would remind me of what a nice time I'd had talking to her, & she said she'd enjoyed it too. Amazing how such a small thing can really make your day!! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.