A MIMent In Time

By justmim

Edinblue

Beautiful autumnal Sunday morning start in Edinburgh :)

As it was Remembrance Sunday but I was due to be on creche and then off to the rugby straight after I decided to make my way into the city early for a wander and a visit to the Garden of Remembrance. On my way I walked along the Royal Mile, at which point they were beginning to set-up for the ceremony outside City Chambers. It was quite striking to be passing many service men and women gathering together for this event.

I was then pleased to discover that a truly respectful, if somewhat sombre, surrounded the Garden of Remembrance itself.

During placement I worked with a man who had fought for our country. The stories that he had to share were fascinating, but the more wonderful thing was the incredible attitude to life he had that would put many of us to shame.

Baby creche was, as always, fun :) Impressively, during the silence (we have the service relayed through by TV-link to creche) we had only a few gurgles - other than that, quiet! Well done babies :)

Then straight to meet the ever-lovely Helen for a catch-up on our (rather busy!) way to the stadium. This was my first ever rugby match (in fact, first ever sporting event) so even just soaking up the atmosphere was fun. I even enjoyed the actual rugby bit ;) Looking forward to next weekend - though I think I'll get an extra pair of socks on next time!

Final catch-up in Starbucks (brie and cranberry panini and mint blend tea - yum!) and it was time to say farewell.

Back to the flat for some baking and that was that :)

Not a normal Sunday, but enjoyable all the same :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.