dreaming

By dreaming

A parade

Between the heat and the after-effects of the vertigo treatment, I got one hour of sleep last night, so I've gone through the day pretty disoriented.  One advantage of sleeplessness, however, is that when you give up trying at 5:15 AM, you can discover that an overcast sky means cool temperatures.  So I was able to open my windows wide and air out and cool down my whole apartment.

I managed to get to the library, and my Vietnamese student had returned after three weeks during which the family were entertaining his visiting mother-in-law.  We had a good talk, and I clarified a list of word questions he had, such as, what's the difference between ill and sick, pain  and hurt.  This really keeps me on my toes, difficult to do on a day when I'm essentially sleepwalking.

Every summer Seattle has an event called Seafair, which is a celebration of everything to do with water and boating.  Tonight was the Torchlight Parade, with floats and marchers of all ethnicities.  City officials march and ride in it, including our new female (and gay) mayor, the female Chief of Police, and the female County Sheriff.  Seattle does some things right.  These are the Fire Department Bagpipers, who play at Department events and funerals, and who march every year at Seafair.  Later there will be the flotilla of lights, as lots of boats will be out on the lake with lights glowing.  I am not one who goes to this kind of thing, but it's fun to see how many people really invest themselves in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.