Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

African Dream

Arrived at my cousin and his family in Vrilissia, Athens and after the morning poor down of rain the sun emerged again and in the late afternoon we set out for the beach of Schinnia, next to Marathon. Some 40 kms away to the East from Athens and we climbed across mount Pentelis to get there. OK the car climbed mount Pentelis what has a hight of some 1200 mtrs.... great views from there all time !  

And ofcourse we did see in the distance the scorched land of the fires of last Monday around Rafina and Nea Voutzas and Mati. tomorrow I surely we see that at closer range as I'll meet my friends from Rafina there.

The beach we visited also had a group of Africans that enjoyed the beach with trees and the luke warm sea.  I've never been to any country in Africa but my 2 sisters both lived in various countries in Africa for many years and I did see pica's of them with scenes like this. Never imagined I'd get an African feel image from Greece, but the place here must have felt like home for them.

They did sing and dance for joy and ofcourse enjoyed the sea too. 
I'd asked them if it's OK I picture them and they approved. Don't know if they'd want to go public here, I think if they knew Blip is safe and great site, they'd accept. 
When we were there we did see a policecar drive thro'  the trees and halt when spotting the many Africans, rather than getting out and ask for their papers, they circled around for a while. None of the Africans was alarmed and they all have permits to be here. Some speak Greek already. And they told me they come from various countries.. Cote d'Ivoir, Congo, Senegal, Nigeria a.o.

Backblip 3 from Athens - tomorrow I'll fly back to Holland
CU!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.