Oyster Adventure

I met a charming couple , Christian and Annick at a lunch party last weekend and when I found they are oyster growers I asked if I could come out with them on their boat one day. I was amazed that they agreed because I thought there would be all sorts of H&S restrictions. So today was the day. What a fantastic trip out into the bay of La Rochelle on their chalon boat. Waiting for the low tide the beds of oysters gradually appeared and they jumped off the boat in their waders to turn the sacks of oysters on their stands. Then it was lunch of half a dozen freshly picked out of the water with home made pate washed down with a beer sitting on the side of the boat with my feet in the sea. What a feast.

I have wanted to do this for years and finally made it. What an adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.