RobSmallshire

By RobSmallshire

South Queensferry

I’ve been deferring the Full Scottish Breakfast at The Bonham Hotel since I arrived, but today is my last day, so I indulge. It’s worth it.

Set up for the day, I hop on the tram out to the airport for my flight back to Oslo. I know Alick and Rachel are flying out of EDI for a walking holiday in France, and I look for their flight, but I’m too early, so won’t get to catch up.

Instead, I find myself chatting with a retired couple from the US who are on their way to Norway. They have lots of questions about the political system and welfare state. It transpires that he’s a gun-owning Marxist prepared to take up arms against the Trump administration. “I won’t start the revolution”, he tells me, “but I’ll be there to help”. Behind him, his wife’s eyes role heavenwards.

My flight back is delayed because the pilot can’t get through security. Then the trains from the airport are disrupted by engineering works. I arrive home later than expected, and a bit grumpy, but glad nonetheless after a successful excursion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.