RobSmallshire

By RobSmallshire

Forth

Forth is a stack-based programming language little used these days outside of spacecraft control. Today I’m talking about another programming language – Python. My one hour talk at Europython is really well attended – perhaps 200 people – and seemingly well received. I get smart and interested questions, which is often a good sign that people have engaged with the topic.

I leave shortly after my talk, drop my computer back at the hotel, then Stuart collects me to head back to his and Sally-Anne’s for dinner. I enjoy meeting their seven month old daughter, talking, and receiving a tour of their impressive house and substantial renovation project in South Queensferry. Somehow I see my Edinburgh friends much more frequently than the Yorkshire crowd. It’s much more convenient to get to, from Oslo.

I walk back to the railway station, where I’m treated to an interesting perspective on the Forth Railway Bridge. From there, it’s just half hour back to my plush hotel in Edinburgh, and bed, where I will sleep soundly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.