YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

One Of My Favourite Books

Bought for me by my son a couple of years ago - it's about the history of Biba, the iconic shop.  I visited it when I was about 19 and I still have the t-shirt I bought from the shop - sadly it no longer fits me but I would never get rid of it.  

The shop was situated in Kensington High Street and I'd never seen anything like it before.  The interior was very dark and had an art deco feel to it - it looked like a film set.  I was on my very first visit to London and everywhere seemed so exciting.  In those days (the early 1970's) Newcastle seemed very dull and provincial and fashion was much further behind than in the capital.  Now virtually every high street has the same shops.  In lots of ways it is good but I still mourn decline of individual exciting shops. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.