Grenoble

We had a very comfortable overnight stay in our hotel in Grenoble. It was a very good breakfast too. We then set out for the Grenoble-Bastille cable car, often referred to as "the bubbles" (see the extra). We took the ride to the Bastille, a former fortress with a fantastic view over the city. Despite the haze, it was a good place to be in the sunshine today. We did a bit of exploring of tunnels and caves at the top before heading back down.

Time then to hit the road towards Lyon. We had a short stop at Crémieu and some more great ruins before arriving with good time at the airport at Lyon for Immy, Rosie and I (Chris) to get a flight back to London. Annie has the car now to amble home. 

Edit: It was nice for me (Annie) to be able to share a little of Grenoble with the girls. It is a place firmly rooted in my childhood as we came every summer - my mum worked as a programmer with the Institut Laue-Langevin there. After 25 years my mum is still missed, for her laughs, adventure and smarts. When I’m in Grenoble I can almost feel her presence. The bubbles were firmly 5 year old Annie’s destination of choice for her birthday, and with my birthday approaching it would seem that 45 year old Annie would agree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.