Martigny-Courpierre

Poor Chris was back to work today while I (Annie) continued on my way home. I took a meandering route through the French countryside from my hotel back to the autoroute. Yesterday I'd driven until I felt tired - which with the French motorways being so easy, was about 10pm. With the power of the Internet I could leave booking until I was near somewhere - technology just works well sometimes.

Just after I'd set off, I spotted this wonderful Art Deco church. It was built in the 1930s, after the previous church was totally destroyed in the first world war. The concrete of the church had been sculpted beautifully, and the windows were fabulous art deco patterned stained glass.

I made it to Calais at lunchtime, and after a quick Hypermarket run headed for the tunnel. No fuss, over to the UK in quick time.

If only the UK motorways weren't such a nightmare in comparison!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.