Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Camp, vintage

Really thought we’d go do something the city has to offer today —like visit the new Nordic Heritage Muesum, since we are headed back to the island tomorrow…. but ran out of time with projects…and it was too warm to do much anyway.   It will wait.   We are, however going to meet friends at a local restaurant (with AC) soon for dinner. :-)

One of the projects was to make a card to mail tomorrow for granddaughter Tatum who is at Camp in New Hampshire for 3 weeks.   I have letters from my Dad that he sent to me at Girl scout Camp, typed on his business paper, from my dog ,Butch, my cat, Pete, my bird, Perky,  my fish (kingfish ) and our Buick. And one from Daddy.   all very funny!   Plus all the neighborhood gossip. ( I must put them in a book!) 
So Tatum got a couple notes from her dog, Maple.   and today I looked for some old camp photos and made a card with 1952-3 photos.   Tried to find it on the internet….I knew where but couldn’t remember the name (!)  On my Dad’s letters, it’s Camp Timbertops,  Or maybe Camp Timberloft.  ? or maybe not. I did find a site that has vintage museum clippings from all sorts of girl scout camps.   Many have closed.
I’m hoping she is not embarrassed.   I don’t think I was…My friends’ granddaughter had to tell her Mom to stop sending letters and packages as she was embarrassed to get so many..

I hope she has a great time… I always did.  I don’t think she will see this photo because their phones are not allowed.  Im sure these photos were taken with the old kodak brownie ..most are pretty terrible.   (Im in the upper left of the group)    But worth a blip...?.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.