Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Fledglings

The camera that allowed us to look into the Osprey nest close to home was struck by lightenting soon after the chicks hatched so we didn't get to see their development.  The camera couldn't be repaired without disturbing the little family but they did manage to set up another camera that shows the outside of the nest and the comings and goings. Here is a link to that.  The chicks are two months old now and all three have fledged in the past few days.  I went to visit them today and found this beautiful young female perched on a pole across the pond from the nest.  My extra shot of the nest shows a male and another female fledgling with Mom in the middle.  Dad was flying around and I was hoping he would land so I could blip the whole family but he finally flew away.  I did try to catch him in flight but my shots were terrible!  They should be around for about another month before they begin their migration south for the winter.  I'll be visiting more often now to watch the young ones practice flying and fishing.  :-)

I am grateful for a surprise visit from my brother and SiL today.  We spent a very nice few hours catching up!  It's really a shame that we don't see each other more often since we live so close!

Many thanks to everyone for all your comments and stars and hearts yesterday and today.  I'll catch up with all of you tomorrow.  Right now it's time for bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.