Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Twelve Spotted Skimmer

I see these big dragonflies in flight all the time but I've never seen one land long enough for a photo until today.  With an approximate 3 inch wing span, he was easy to spot from across the yard so I quickly went inside for my camera.  As always, I started from far away so I would at least have a shot if he flew, but he stayed until I was about a foot away from him.  Then Piper came to see what I was doing and off he flew.  

I googled to confirm my ID because no matter how I counted the spots, they never added up to twelve.  I learned that only the brown spots are counted, three on each wing, and that adds up to twelve!  I also learned that only mature males have the white spots, two on each forewing and three on each hindwing.  They used to be called "Ten Spotted" because only the white spots were counted but, since the female doesn't have the white spots, whoever names dragonflies thought it made more sense to call them "Twelve Spotted".  How's that for useless information? ;-)

I am grateful that I decided to have my coffee on the deck this morning so I could have my blip in the bag before 9 a.m.  That hardly ever happens! 

I hate to be repetitious, but this really does look better in large. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.