The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Snowed in

The best birthdays are the ones where you can't go to work because you are snowed in, and so you go sledging instead! This was actually the day after my birthday, but the day itself was similar. We hadn't any sledges, so took some trays up to the fields, where we discovered that other people were sledging on estate agents' boards! There were at that time a great many properties on the market that weren't moving at all, even if their boards were plummeting downhill, like the prices!

We borrowed a roundy-whizzy sort of sledge from some kind people, and I discovered I had a talent for roundy-roundy sledging. This was gratifying, as I am not sporty in the least. When we were not sledging, we watched Red Dwarf, Frasier, Boston Legal, and drank hot chocolate. Surely this is how winter should be, sometimes!

The following summer, I bought a very superior wooden sledge with metal runners in a charity shop. Because it was August, I only paid £5 for it, and felt rather foolish traipsing through the streets of Minchinhampton with it! Turned out to be the King of Sledges, though.

This is a reference shot: I was not a blipper in 209, so this is just for fun.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.