Adventure Gardening

I was planning to take my kayak out for a paddle this afternoon, but saw a couple of stinging nettles (Urtica dioica) flowering in one of the jungle-like corners of our garden. We have plans for that corner of the garden and are trying to reduce the weeds so my thinking was; "I'll just get rid of those nettles and then I'll be off".
Of course, when I got started I realised there were an awful lot of nettles, and in the end kayak paddling never happened. Instead I spent around three hours weeding, removing a huge pile of nettles and another huge pile of other assorted weeds.
Although no longer really hot the weather is still warm and the air is very humid so without working particularly hard I was soon dripping with sweat.  The only way to stay slightly comfortable was to wear very few clothes.  The combination of few clothes and piles of stinging nettles was what led to the title of this text.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.