On the beach

Yesterday I got lost in the weeding and my planned paddle didn't happen, so today I was determined to get the kayak on the sea. The sun stayed away but it was still warm, and unusually humid. Not bad weather for a paddle because there's nearly always a slight breeze down on the sea.
I set off from the mainland, which is what you see on the horizon in this picture, and paddled out to Dravel Holmen, a smallish island where I landed on the beach you see here.  I quickly explored (lots of trees, no houses or people), had a minimal picnic and a quick swim, then continued paddling on in a large circle taking in the islands of Hemsö and Lugnön before returning to start.
It felt good to be on the water and the paddling went well. The getting into and out of the kayak gets easier too. Either I'm just getting used to it or my shoulder is getting stronger. Either way lifting myself out of the cockpit is definitely easier. It feels good to be getting back into kayaking!
Stopped to pick up a pizza on the way home. It felt a real treat too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.