Popcorn

This blossom just reminds me of popcorn. Currently, the tree is mainly tightly closed blossom-in-waiting, but the occasional one just can't contain itself any longer and it bursts out joyfully, swaying in the breeze and looking rather delighted with itself.

So, a tiny bit of spring, a tiny bit of joy, a tiny blossom, ready to face the world.

Our little Abe is at the vets' at the moment. I dropped him off this morning. He's being sedated so that they can give his ears a good clean out. He won't let them do it while he's awake unfortunately. I couldn't help but shed a tear or two as I walked to my car, lead in hand, no dog by my side. The last time that happened, I was leaving my beautiful Cousteau on the day he died. I know that this is different, and that Abe will return well and full of beans, but I can't help but think about my boy when I'm at the vets'. It was the last place I saw him alive.

So, I'll hang onto the popcorn blossom and the joy it feels at being in the world at last. I'll focus on the beauty around me and the fact that Abe, at least, will come home tonight and need lots of cuddles.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.