JoeyG

By JoeyG

Beach Art

After breakfast in town this morning I took my friends for a stroll along the Cleveleys prom. Was a beautiful morning for it. The tide was out which revealed two pieces of beach art - there are several along the Fylde coast.

The main pic is the Ogre; he gets entirely submerged when the tide is in. He’s a red eyed stone sculpture; a key feature of the story of the Sea Seallow - a specially commissioned story book combining local folklore, myth and legends of the Wyre coastline. The shell in the extras is also part of the story. It wasn’t until I Googled the Ogre that I learned of the connection to local sculptures - I will add the others to the extras when I next visit.

He certainly is a big bugger. He was installed in 2014 and I have a pic of my Mum with him. In all these years of walking past him, this morning was the first time I walked across the beach to say hello personally. I’ve added a pic of my friend with the shell for perspective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.