Breakfast at Ruckle

Not the best photo because the deer was in shadow and quite far away, but I really like her expression!  She has very distinctive markings on her face, easily recognizable.  Extras: Another shot of her reaching for a mouthful of maple seeds and one of a young buck that was keeping her company.
It's much cooler today, thank goodness, perfect for an early morning walk at Ruckle Park. There were a few campers and I'm sure the campground will be full this coming long weekend. I had the trails all to myself and somehow found myself on a lower trail which has been closed for quite a long time. You'd think I'd never walked there before!  The trail has eroded a lot since we last walked it before it was closed and is quite narrow in parts with a drop off to the rocks below. There is a "Trail closed" sign at one end but not at the end where I got on it.  Would make sense to have signs at both ends.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.