Sand sculptures

G and some of his friends had an inter-club golf game with players in Parksville today, so I tagged along for a day at the beach!  There are lovely stretches of sand there and I really enjoy a chance to spend time at a sandy beach instead of the rocky beaches we have here.  I didn't realize that the sandsculpting competition was on, the 35th annual, and I really enjoyed looking at the artistic creations.  The theme was Canada's 150th anniversary.  It was really hard to decide which to blip, but I decided on the Canadian Mosaic.  Five Canadian treasures were featured around the sculpture.  
Main blip:  Terry Fox and Chief Dan George
1st extra:  Neil Young
2nd extra: Buffy Sainte-Marie and David Suzuki
I'll post an album of other sculptures on Flickr when I get a chance.  I still haven't gone through all the ones from Krista and Dan's engagement party!
The tide was way out when I got to the beach.  I had fun strolling on the sand, taking photos, sitting reading.  It's rare that I have a day with nothing to do, so I made the most of it.  I was surprised that there weren't more people around, although it did get busier later in the afternoon.  G enjoyed his golf game, so a good day for both of us!
The smoke from the forest fires in the interiors is now over the south coast and it was very obvious today.  I took the main blip about half an hour before the extras, and the sky is much duller in the them.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.