Sunset for Ken

Kia ora.

Today is Waitangi Day in New Zealand. It's our National Day and thankfully as a nation we're finally starting to celebrate who we are, what we have, where we've come from, our diverse cultures and the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi (our founding document).

I celebrated by telling myself one more day and I could go for a run, but it was ok to paint the fence.

Painting is a bizarre activity in that you spend more time stirring the paint than applying it. After 45mins worth of stirring and shaking the bucket, I think there is still the odd colour change on the fence. It's a rough old timber fence so it adds character ;-)

I'm no where near finished but at least what I did today had 2 coats and is complete. It got pretty hot so I took time off, had a read and a sleep and resumed again later in the afternoon.

After many close up shots and quite a few clouds (I turned 50 on blip yesterday but didn't notice...), I thought I'd try something different. I went round to Dr B's for dinner and a DVD. I had a play around with architectural shots at her place, but nor'west skies in Canterbury are spectacular and hard to resist. (Bear with me, learning to 'see' is a slow process - but one to savour and enjoy).

Ken, I know you're missing them so this one is for you and Karina.

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.