Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fishley Rover Bridge Sunrise

A weird dream last night had me awake early, well before sunrise so, as normal, I was out for a walk early.  The sunrise was colourful, if not spectacular.

After breakfast I decided to head into Birmingham on the train, complete with my bike with the intention of making use of the canal network and national cycle network to get home.  It was a fascinating ride, out from Gas Street Basin along the Birmingham and Fazeley canal, under modern buildings in the city centre and then below Spaghetti Junction as the cars and lorries thundered above (See extra).

After heading out of the city I came off the canal and had a really nostalgic moment riding through Pype Hayes Park, which my parents' house backed on to as I was growing up.  Certainly things have changed there.  I never knew the cycle route was available until I visited amandoAlentejo in one of her brief visits back home from Portugal.

After that it was a brief stop for lunch at the Jamboree Stone in Sutton Park before rejoining the canal and passing where this photograph had been taken a few hours earlier.  In the end it was 25 miles of riding.  One thing I am quite certain about is I need another saddle!  Sitting down at the moment isn't without its discomfort!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.