Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

(The) Long Lane

I'm afraid my knee prevented any good sleep last night, each time I moved it reminded me it was there!  I got up about 5:30 am to notice mist and fog across the local fields.  I haven't seen these conditions for a while so wanted to try and enjoy them, but quickly realised I'd need to find locations close to the roadside so I didn't have to walk too far.

This lane is actually called Long Lane and I just loved the beams of light illuminating the far verge.  I probably should have taken more effort to compose, but bending the knee was extremely uncomfortable and even hobbling across the road seemed like too much effort.  I've since read up on it and I seem to have a combination of Housemaid's and Clergyman's knee.  Not sure I'm particularly happy with either description.

Despite the pain, I was back up in the loft this morning to shred some old personal papers.  I took to a seat, turned on the radio to listen to Test match Special and pottered away for a couple of hours until I had 2 large bags of shredded paper for disposal.  These days I scan everything we receive to Evernote.  Much easier (as long as I have an internet connection if I need to find anything!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.