But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Quiraing.

I was up at 3:00 this morning to catch the dawn, I hope without disturbing the young cycling couple with whom I shared the dorm. Having driven up to the Quiraing I walked a couple of miles along this path to my chosen viewpoint and then sat down to consume a muesli bar and a can of caffeine while watching all promise of a colourful dawn disappear like Scotch mist. It was quite scary walking back as by then it was daylight and I could see all of the edges over which I might possibly fall.

The Blip was eventually taken a few hundred yards from the car park and close to the little rowan tree. The walk had taken nearly four and a half hours and I was back at the hostel eating breakfast before anyone else had surfaced.

I arrived home after a long drive to find that, while I had had ten days of boring overcast skies (apart from a couple of hours of sun and a few downpours), Mrs TD in Roslin had been basking in wall to wall sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.