Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Birds!

Very windy,..3rd day in a row.   No rowing.   In fact I haven’t been down to the dock yet. Walked uphill.  H saw Libby mid morning —she was way on top on the beach in her spot under the wharf where we saw her pull up last night and climbed over a log to get to the water while he watched    I’m so worried about her I’m not sure I can watch.  It’s not a good place as she has to travel too far when the tide is low.  The other side of the bay is better with all sorts of rocks at different levels.   


I did watch backyard birds for awhile.   We drag all the big bags of seeds and suet here… but I can’t call myself a birder.  I have to look them up all the time.  Nor do I have a great lens for them.    thought this was a female downy woodpecker but now that I look closer, I think it’s a hairy woodpecker with that long bill.   (???)   today I also saw nuthatch, chickadees, goldfinch, several sparrow, (one looked like a white crowned sparrow but it has a yellow/tan breast,. (??)  juncos, robins and the woodpeckers.  It's worth bringing all that food! One could sit and watch the show for a long time. ( and then fill the feeders...!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.