Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Seals

We finally got out for a row this morning with less wind today ..felt good.. but in the double as my back is giving me a little trouble and the double is easier. Better now.  Here are some of the 5-6 pairs of Mom and pup seals that are just across the bay..2 are nursing…one is molting.. oh so much bigger than Libby who is still in her spot under the wharf.    Hugely distressing!   (extra))

So I put the canoe Munu in the water here because I wanted to blip it.,      Late yesterday afternoon there was a motor boat anchored in front of our beach with a canoe alongside…then I heard voices on the beach… it was a First Nations family who had just participated in the “Paddle to Puyallap” gathering down by Tacoma, WA..where many tribes converge to celebrate, the theme this year “honoring our medicine”,.)  These people were from Nanaimo , on their way home north (having stayed at other reservation sites on the way up) and spending a few hours here hoping the strong wind would lesson… it did, later, and they left.  I’m sure it’s a magnificent sight to see these canoes come ashore….. I just picture them on these beaches here. The kids found the seal pup on the shore, tried to give her some oyster (?) but she shuffled out to the water.   They all think her survival on her own is “marginal” at best, too,. they said she has a wound on her flipper and some scratches .    It’s very upsetting to me.!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.