The Supper Club Files

By SupperGuru

Day Two. Strumpet's Butter Chicken

As I warned with my first supper club entry - I am a lazy, cut corners, cheat of a cook, especially mid-week, when inspiration and time is pretty hard to come by. I sometimes do it from scratch but day-to-day I simply do not have time ... I wish I did.

So tonight I give you what I think is a delicious, quick and sooooo easy to make chicken curry. It tastes authentic without, let's face it, the major faffing that can come with Indian cuisine. It's my own adaptation of a Murgh Mahkani or butter chicken curry.

If you don't like meat you can sub the chicken for quorn or paneer and sweet potato. If you use sweet potato boil in skins until soft and then quarter to marinade once cooled.


Ingredients you will need (for four)

4 plump chicken breasts, cubed into big chunks
1 jar Pataks Butter Chicken cook-in sauce
1 handful of fresh coriander leaves

Marinade
1 individual tub of natural yoghurt
2 table spoons of melted butter (I leave this out if I am feeling virtuous)
1 tablespoon garam massala
1 teaspoon lazy garlic
1 teaspoon lazy chill
2 sachets of lazy ginger
1 teaspoon of ground coriander
2 table spoons of lemon juice
2 table spoons of chili infused olive oil (ordinary will do if you don't have chili or garlic infused)

Combine all the marinade ingredients together in a bowl to form a smooth sauce.
Put chicken chunks in a freezer bag and pour in the marinade
Seal and then squidge round until the marinade covers all the chicken completely then toss in the fridge and leave for as long as you want (overnight is fine but min of 4 hours to get best effect)


Assembly
Heat large wok until hot and then throw in the contents of the marinade bag. Stir fry for about 5-8 minutes or at least until the chicken is opaque.

Then add a jar of Pataks Butter Chicken cook in sauce.

Leave to simmer for about 15-20 mins.

Meanwhile, cook rice (I throw rice in a large jug cover with boiling water and microwave uncovered for 11 minutes, drain and then leave in the colander over the jug covered with a clean cloth until ready)

Heat Naan bread
Chopped some fresh coriander to sprinkle on the dish when served.

And Enjoy


Seriously this curry tastes like a take away and it takes in total about 40 mins from top to bottom, including prep and cooking! OK so it isn't 'authentic' but on a cold Tuesday night I ned something I can shove on quick and enjoy...

Veggie's Delight


If you don't like meat you can sub the chicken for quorn or paneer and sweet potato. If you use sweet potato boil in skins until soft and then quarter to marinade with the paneer once cooled.


Remember if you want to blip your supper just notify me the day before and then send me your picture and write up and you can be a Supper Club guest. Email on profile.


Bon Apetite

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.