Man, Mountain or Fish

By StevieFish

What do you think you're doin'?

That was the start of the rant from the dayglo yellow gas gorrilla at 8.40 this morning.

I had just taken a couple of photos of the roadworks at Hawthornvale, my usual cycle route into work and literally 200 metres from my house. The sun on the buildings and the ditch in the road looked interesting. The photos didn't amount to much but I wanted to record it. there was only a lass walking down the road and the driver of a digger half way down the road in shot. In fact if you want to see the shot I took have a look here.

Y'see? nothing of interest in the shot. Not blipworthy. So how have I spent most of the morning on the phot to figures of authority?

well...

After I'd taken this shot I started to walk off when I heard someone shouting after me, it wasn't a polite 'excuse me, what were you doing' but an "oi, OI, whit r ye daen?"

and thats where it started to get surreal.

"ye' hauv tae ask permission tae take a fotie"

"eh no I don't, its a public highwa..."

ah coulda been in yer fotie an' ah didnae say ye could take it dida?

"eh? you weren't in the..."

Aye but he wuz (pointing to the digger driver) an he didnae say aye

...

"there's no expe..."

If ah see ye wi yer camera aroond here again, ya f*ckin ****** ah'll...

"What???"

*mutter mutter* f*ckin' *mutter*

At this point he's taking a half step towards me with a shovel in his hand. I decide to leave the scene.

Scottish Gas Networks eh?

I phoned them and the police and have incident numbers for both.

This shot is a bit further up the road. No workies in sight as I took this. And yes I did ask the door if I could take its photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.