WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Frazzled

I had to do something with the garden produce. I couldn't face slaving over a hot stove making ratatouille, so I made escalivade instead. Yes, it means using the oven, but at least you can go away while it's cooking, and I did it first thing in the morning while the house was still relatively cool.

I went to the swimming pool to cool off. Unfortunately all the teenagers in the village had the same idea. After the second person jumped in without looking to land inches in front of me, and someone else swam underwater and came up directly underneath me, I gave up. Tried again in the evening and it was no better ... sigh.

Later, a projection of Dominican film Carpinteros (Woodpeckers), filmed in an actual jail -- only four professional actors, the rest were prisoners. It was the kind of film our local film society would show ... like last week's Daniel Blake, definitely not a feelgood summer movie! The characters start out in a bad situation and end up in a worse one. The film ends with a prison riot, the cameraman in the midst of the machete-wielding crowd with the camera  on his shoulder. Many indrawn breaths from the small and sweltering audience as the hero got punched and shot at. I think I need some light entertainment now. Oh ... the next village event (Monday) is a play called The Violence of the Rich written by a couple of "militant sociologists" ... why does this remind me of this?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.