Plastic Not Fantastic

After a couple of hours cutting back the lemon verbena and Ladies Mantle on the allotment after doing the hens, I went over to Cawsands to see an Art exhibition being put on By The Rame Peninsular Beach Care organisation. All the artworks were made from plastic collected from the sea and beaches. It was totally beautiful but totally awful to see and read all the facts and figures. I loved the dresses and rope chair. The massive Easter Island head was made from plastic collected from one Cornish beach and an abandoned polystyrene pontoon. It's to remind us that the greatest of civilisations can collapse if they damage the fragile ecosystem upon which they depend. There are more photos and info on some of the exhibits here - I shall say no more as think I would be preaching to the converted. 
I had a wander round cawsands then bought a blueberry ice-cream and sat on the beach watching the people and boats. I loved the family in extras with the dad making the most amazing baps for his children! Cawsand has so many happy but also bittersweet memories for me - brought my dad here when he was staying with me, the last trip to see me when he could still walk,  my mum in the last year off her life, where she bought an expensive painting, did a training  walk for the Moonwalk marathon with Friend. Also been here with Vegan Jo and France Dweller.  It was good to see so many happy families and couples - and to play spot the people who were so going to burn in the scorching sun! I'm not too sure I would like to swim in the sea there - not with the ferries and naval vessels pumping goodness know what in the water! Well the levels of tritium and cobalt are high, particularly bad as the Tamar river is a tidal one, so anything in the exposed mud also has the chance to dry and be blown onto the land - hmm, maybe my allotment produce is not so healthy! The government says the levels are fine and present no health risk - I am not convinced and there are many people in Plymouth who aren't either! There are 12 old nuclear subs at the Devonport naval base! 8 have fuelled nuclear reactors as in 2002 the base was declared unsafe for dismantling them!
I didn't do much in the afternoon as too hot, but was back up to the allotment in the cool of the evening. Only 3 of the hens are laying - think it's just too hot for them! Henrietta and Izzy are no longer broody and the others  are laying in the coop again - I search round their plot just in case but have not found their current laying area if they have one! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.