Boom!

Took it easy as mighty hot today - popped up midday to check on the hens and give them some watermelon! I spotted the allotment chairman on his plot so went over to ask him if it would be ok to bring my puppy to the plot. He was fine about it! Phew! No more taking the car to the plot unless I have heavy things to take or bring back! Whilst we chatted about how productive the allotment was being, he showed me his grape vine and tomatoes in his greenhouse - which was actually cooler inside than it was out!
Come 9.30 I gathered my camera and tripod and headed up the hill to photograph the fireworks from the Bikers Festival. I decided to try a different vantage point from my attic! As usual they were spectacular! If you go large and  look to the right beneath the arches you can see the farm - I wonder which field they put the cows in to minimise the impact of the noise and light. There was a bird somewhere near me that was not at all happy - it was giving out an alarmed call most of the event! To the far left under the arches you can make out the striped marquees where the bands played all weekend. At  the end  they always save some monster fireworks as the finale. However this year it was spectacular in a different way - they exploded in a fireball shortly after lifting off the ground! There were fires all over the field which must have been quite large as I could see them clearly from my far away vantage point. I hoped no-one was hurt - nothing on their facebook page so I guess the people letting them off escaped unharmed.
I thought this one of the train could be my blip - it stopped as soon as it was on the viaduct and the passengers must have had some viewpoint! It then crawled along the rest of the track. There is only one stop after calstock and I don't think anyone was going to complain if they were a few minutes late! 
I managed to get 210 photos down to 120 for processing and then 44 for an album! Maybe next year I should catch the train and take photos from it  for a different vantage point!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.