The Yorkshire Pudding Run and me

Breaking the 52kg barrier yesterday, I thought I'd make the most of less kilos to drag over the hills.  So I had a big ride.

With two hours of pretty much nobody this morning, I pedalled up Wharfedale in a delightfully cool cloud inversion.  As I arrived in Kettlewell, the mist was separating and lifting. Reaching the top of Kidstones, you'd think there'd never been any.

It was warming up.

I took a few new little lanes on my way to Bainbridge, stopping at a cafe before heading onto Hawes.  My little photography project is nearing completion but still in my head, so I stopped a few more times than usual for a few more cows and views.

I thought I'd crawled up Fleet Moss but discovered I had a PR. Turns out, I simply beat my last crawl by a whopping eleven seconds!  It was hot.

Big rides warrant double coffee shops, so I stopped in at Zarina's for a cheese toastie before encouraging my lactic legs home.

The second half of my ride was joined by 160 MGs on the Yorkshire Pudding Run.  Mostly, heading towards me, thankfully.  Made up for the quiet start to the day.

And I made it home, spotting Liz on her way out for a ride on the back road near home.  We stopped on a hill about 10 metres apart - neither of us willing to go down and back up or up and back down so we laughed and went our separate ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.