wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

British Museum

After my day in the National Archives I was heading down to my brother's for the weekend. First I had a day in London, before he gave me a lift in the evening. So off I went to enjoy a few sites that also provided lockers. First: the British Museum. I had been briefly before, and this time I was determined to do a better job of seeing it. After walking from Canada Waters along the Thames Path I was quite relieved to get to the Museum (I did catch the tube for the last bit), and spent a little bit of time trying to work out where on earth to start. Eventually I went through the 'creation of the collection' section, found the Rosetta Stone and the other Egyptian bits, wandered through there and then thought it was probably lunch time. Before I left, however, I accidently found myself in the watch and clock display, which captured my attention, and then the medieval Britain bits.

By then it was super super super lunchtime, so I had to get out and find some food. After that I went on to the Museum of London. I love that museum, it's a lot of fun and last time I was there half of it was still being put together. So this time I spent hours reading about the Great Fire of London and other post-medieval history. Amazing! I read all the signs, looked at all the pictures, and took my time before heading off to meet my brother and drive down to Dorset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.