Cutting the cake

A concerted effort by the whole family meant that Chris and Lizzy's engagement party was more than amply catered for  - with the centrepiece being this precariously large white chocolate and raspberry cake, baked by Ben and assembled by Pete, under my watchful guidance. Cutting it proved to be a rather tricky endeavour!

We had a wonderful afternoon and evening, with family and friends from all stages of their lives. Lizzy's parents' garden provided the perfect venue, and we were blessed with ideal weather, not too overwhelmingly hot thank goodness. I was still well under par and didn't manage to eat much of the food I'd helped to prepare, but began to feel better as the day wore on and even managed a small and weak honeybee gin and tonic towards the end of the evening!

So, the next big event will be the wedding, but as they still haven't set a date I'm not holding my breath! 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.