Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Holly Blue and Gatekeeper

In our garden this lunchtime.  I believe this is the first time I’ve photographed a Holly Blue and we don’t see as many Gatekeepers in the garden since our neighbour ripped out the wild marjoram.  Both specimens have had a chunk taken out of their wings but still seem to be enjoying life and finding some nectar rich plants.

An arty kind of morning.  I’ve focused on a sketch of the stonework carving in Conisbrough Castle today (with suitably smeared paint background).  I’m always attracted to carved stonework, especially when it’s medieval or even Norman or Roman and I have all these photos which I don’t know what to do with.  It’s a bit like collecting cigarette cards in years gone by!!

I’ve also been trying to gather together a record of my latest paint sketches - it always takes longer than I think.

Ann has watered the garden (pots mainly) with the hose and filled up the pond.  It feels pleasantly warm today, though it was warm enough to dry our washing after a few hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.